A Foretaste of Heaven

I like to take photos, as well as write.  I’m not trained at all, and could probably be much better if I was, but occasionally I am blessed with some nice photographs.  I took this one below with my cell phone while doing altar guild on Saturday.  The way the stained glass was reflecting in the communion cup tray was really pretty, and the sun was shining through so perfectly.  I just love our sanctuary.  The stained glass is so intricate, so beautiful, I don’t think in all these years of staring at it, I have deciphered all of its meaning.  I am glad that we have somewhere so beautiful to worship on Sunday mornings.  It is a little foretaste of the beauty of heaven in the midst of the “foretaste of the feast to come.”

I love doing altar guild, because it helps me remember the centrality of the sacrament to what we are doing in church every Sunday.  And I just feel privileged to have any role at all in Jesus’ feeding us His Body and Blood, infusing us with His grace and mercy and sustaining our faith.  When I do altar guild, I feel like I am part of the legacy of both Mary and Martha.

Now as they went on their way, Jesus entered a village. And a woman named Martha welcomed him into her house. And she had a sister called Mary, who sat at the Lord’s feet and listened to his teaching.  But Martha was distracted with much serving. And she went up to him and said, “Lord, do you not care that my sister has left me to serve alone? Tell her then to help me.” But the Lord answered her, “Martha, Martha, you are anxious and troubled about many things,  but one thing is necessary. Mary has chosen the good portion, which will not be taken away from her.”  Luke 10:38-42

The nice thing about helping with altar guild is that I don’t have to choose between serving and receiving the “good portion.”  I get to serve and receive at the same time.  I get to sit at the Lord’s feet and hear His Word, and I get to eat His meal.  If this is just a foretaste, I can’t even imagine what the real feast will be like!

10915145_700066066778511_1097798686996683381_n
“And he took a cup, and when he had given thanks he gave it to them, saying, ‘Drink of it, all of you, for this is my blood of the covenant, which is poured out for many for the forgiveness of sins.'” Matthew 26:27-28

 

2 thoughts on “A Foretaste of Heaven

Leave a Reply

